On Leaving America – Part 22

Thank God it’s Monday. Wife’s at work. The house is quiet. I have made Monday a day of peace. A luxury of the retired and unemployed . . . not easy to acquire. There’s always something that needs doing. About a year ago I started taking Monday off. A day of rest. Sundays don’t work for me. I end up cutting the grass or washing the car . . . pulling weeds or fixing something. Mondays I refuse to do anything at all, unless is brings me pleasure. A total refusal to work. This weekend I shoveled five cubic yards of gavel. One yard weighs 2,800 pounds. That is a perfect definition of work. Weight X Movement = Work. Earlier this week I shoveled and distributed five yards of wood chips.

Writing this blog is relaxing, kind of fun and is as close as I can come to writing. In a way these blogs are notes to myself—to be read a year or so from now. I know I will write something about this move to Sweden – On Leaving America. But it hurts not to write right now . . these past months. There are so many things I want to work on, and I’ve been getting published these last two years, even now when I’m not writing I’m getting a few acceptances from the eighty-three submissions I’ve made since January. I hate not writing. But today I play with this blog—and you.

 
I think it was Valery who commented she wanted to read more about Amber. It’s provocative thought. It would be fun and easy to do . . . and I could do it here on the blog maybe once a week. It seems kind of silly and might bore male followers. But I don’t have time to be writing anything serious. I should be working on Dearie, a 70,000 word novel I’ve been working on for 5 years. It’s close to finished. It’s been written, revised many times. I have a nice cover and am working with an editor. I just need one more revision and I’m done with it. But I just can’t go there now. I could write, Buckminster & Amber . . . easy I think. How would Amber see the world? Herself?

 

About Bruce Louis Dodson

Bruce Louis Dodson is an American expat now living in Borlänge, Sweden with his wife, cat and dog. He is an artist and world traveler who writes fiction and poetry and practices photography in his less than copious free time. His work has appeared in: Barely South Review - Boundaries Issue, Blue Collar Review, Pulsar Poetry (UK), Foliate Oak, Breadline Press West Coast Anthology . The E-buffet, Qarrtsiluni, Struggle Magazine, Pearl Literary Magazine, Contemporary Literature Review: India, 3rd Wednesday, Sleeping Cat Books - Trip of a Lifetime Anthology, Northern Liberties Review, Authors Abroad - Foreign & and Far Away Anthology, The Path, Page & Spine, The Crucible, Sleeping Cat Books -Trips of a Lifetime, Vine Leaves, Pirene's Fountain,Tic Toc Anthology - Kind of a Hurricane Press, Cordite Poetry Review, Buffalo Almanac and mgv2.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Leaving America – Part 22

  1. (raising hand) I’d like to read more about Lanka and the Tigers.

  2. Yes, Bruce, it’s great to see more from Amber – what astonishing eyes she has. Keep her nose to the grindstone, please.
    Yes, I’d like to know more about the Tamils and Ceylon…Sri Lanka I mean!!!

  3. catnipoflife says:

    Write on, Bruce. All of the posts about Buckster and Amber will make a great new book!!!!!

Leave a Reply

