On Leaving America – Part 43

Sometimes it hits me like a brick wall and becomes more frequent as departure comes more near, matter of days now—and then hours. I don’t think this is my last blog. I bought an inexpensive laptop that seems to be working. Hopefully I will not be off line more than a day or two.
DSM
I think I’ve developed a new symptom for the DSM: Tri-polar. My mind and moods flip around like a gerbil on crack—from excited, to terrified, to sad. These damned goodbyes. The neighbors will be throwing a party for us. I am not in love with the idea. I have had enough goodbyes. They are not fun, but they’re good neighbors, ones that we could count on—trust to feed the cats when we were gone, and help when help was needed . . . barbeques and dinners, minor conversations at the mail box. I suppose it’s just polite to say goodbye. They will be missed. I hope we’ll be as lucky with our neighbors on the other side.
I’m feeling sorry for the cats. It seems so cruel to keep them caged for such a long time, not much better for us humans cramped up in those airplane seats, and then from Stockholm there’s a two hour drive to our new home where we will wait for car and all our stuff to get to Sweden. When it does the game starts over—one more time.
Caramba! I suspect it’s going to be about a year from now before we know a day or two of peace, where there is nothing that must be done. Or do days like that ever happen? I can’t remember.

About Bruce Louis Dodson

Bruce Louis Dodson is an American expat now living in Borlänge, Sweden with his wife, cat and dog. He is an artist and world traveler who writes fiction and poetry and practices photography in his less than copious free time. His work has appeared in: Barely South Review - Boundaries Issue, Blue Collar Review, Pulsar Poetry (UK), Foliate Oak, Breadline Press West Coast Anthology . The E-buffet, Qarrtsiluni, Struggle Magazine, Pearl Literary Magazine, Contemporary Literature Review: India, 3rd Wednesday, Sleeping Cat Books - Trip of a Lifetime Anthology, Northern Liberties Review, Authors Abroad - Foreign & and Far Away Anthology, The Path, Page & Spine, The Crucible, Sleeping Cat Books -Trips of a Lifetime, Vine Leaves, Pirene's Fountain,Tic Toc Anthology - Kind of a Hurricane Press, Cordite Poetry Review, Buffalo Almanac and mgv2.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to On Leaving America – Part 43

  1. will you all be tranquillised? and what happens abut a litter box? I”m worrying myself????

  2. I’m sending good thoughts for your new adventure.

  3. stutleytales says:

    Don’t worry, Bruce. I was told once that if I wonder if I was crazy, then I’m probably not. Crazy people don’t wonder about that 🙂 Valerie – I hadn’t thought about a litter box. Hope someone has. Bucky will not be a happy chappy if he has to ‘hang on’ till they get there 🙂

  4. Good luck with your move! I can’t say that I will miss you because well…here is where you are, so to me you’re not moving at all. Sounds kind of confusing and maybe that explains your tripolar symptoms.

  5. lgyslaine says:

    Good luck for this long journey 🙂

  6. catnipoflife says:

    Glad you will be not be offline for very long…you will need us to help you keep your sanity! Funny thing about the Internet…we will hardly know you have gone, Guess we have the easy part. I worry for the cats. I do hope they make the trip without sickness. 🙂

  7. catnipoflife says:

    Just got a notification via email on Leaving America Part 44. Could not find it on your site to comment so commenting here. Hope the flight is as pleasant as a flight can be these days. I had to aw-w-w-w when you mentioned the cats between your seats. I least they are able to travel close to you. I was wondering about that… Look forward to hearing from you soon! Tell Bucks Foxie sends a purr-r-r-r just for him:-)

Leave a Reply

