Buckminster & Amber – 30

Bucks worried & Pissed“Did you read Willie’s blog? ‘Tri Polar.’ Now he thinks he’s some kind of white bear. I told you he was losing it! This is not good. And I heard we’re going to stay a few days in Boots’ house. Wonderful. You stay as far away from him as possible, Amber. I’ll do the best I can to protect you, but stay in your room. He’s nothing but trouble. Remember what he did to Morris? I just hope I don’t get fleas again.

“And when we leave his house it’s back into those tiny cages you can barely turn around. Who knows how long we’ll be caged up inside the silver bird. I figure our odds of survival are about 50%. And if we do make it we’ll probably have post traumatic stress. Our lives will never be the same.”

“Oh Bucks, you’re such a drama queen. We’ll be okay. They’ll probably give us tranquilizers.”

“They should give us psychedelics. That would make the trip more interesting. We’d be double tripping. Get it? Double—”
“Got it.”
“Good.” I give my tail a casual flip, then look into her starry eyes. “Here’s lookin’ at you, kid.” I could have been another Bogart. “It’s been good,” I tell her.
“What has?”
Amber doesn’t listen to the classic movie channel. “Us.” I mean like, me and you . . . together—hanging out, chasing around, and having lunch. I mean . . . I love you, Amber. I just want you to know . . . in case I don’t make it.”
“Well, I love you back Bucks. Now will you get over it! We’re going to be okay. We’ll blog again, and I already know some Swedish.”
Right. We’ll see. This blog could be our last.”
“It won’t,” she says.
Sometimes she’s right. But this time . . . I don’t know.

Amber Worried-1Now he’s got me worried!

About Bruce Louis Dodson

Bruce Louis Dodson is an American expat now living in Borlänge, Sweden with his wife, cat and dog. He is an artist and world traveler who writes fiction and poetry and practices photography in his less than copious free time. His work has appeared in: Barely South Review - Boundaries Issue, Blue Collar Review, Pulsar Poetry (UK), Foliate Oak, Breadline Press West Coast Anthology . The E-buffet, Qarrtsiluni, Struggle Magazine, Pearl Literary Magazine, Contemporary Literature Review: India, 3rd Wednesday, Sleeping Cat Books - Trip of a Lifetime Anthology, Northern Liberties Review, Authors Abroad - Foreign & and Far Away Anthology, The Path, Page & Spine, The Crucible, Sleeping Cat Books -Trips of a Lifetime, Vine Leaves, Pirene's Fountain,Tic Toc Anthology - Kind of a Hurricane Press, Cordite Poetry Review, Buffalo Almanac and mgv2.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Buckminster & Amber – 30

  1. catnipoflife says:

    Bruce, Bucks and Amber are so beautiful and your stories…well, its like you can read their minds! I do hope these last few days go well for everyone! Foxie sent Bucks an email this morning…SHE is excited to have a new fur-iend! Bootsie (Foxie’s sister) might get jealous, we’ll see…purr-r-r-r-r…

  2. MarieLouise Dodson says:

    Sweet kitties. And – Amber is usually right. Even this time 🙂

  3. Bruce, I melt just looking at those gorgeous kitties … whatever the stress … they must keep you amused!
    Message for Bucks…” Always look on the bright side of things.”
    ..it’s a song,, so get the people to sing it to you when you’re down

Leave a Reply

