Observing Sweden 30 May 2013

A Moving Miracle

ImageThis is so strange. I have this ficus plant I’ve raised from a sprig . . . had it for over twenty-five years and days of torturing and twisting when it was young. (There is a name for this plant twisting I can’t remember.) I guess it sounds crazy but I really love this plant . . . had it for such a long time, an every day companion tenderly cared for.  So when we were shipping our stuff from Seattle I trimmed off the largest branches and packed it in a box with bubble wrap and gave it a last shot of water and a short prayer. I assumed it would die but thought I would give it a fighting chance. It had survived some hard times before, but nothing like what was coming up. I decided if it died I would cut it up and make a sculpture out of the twisted bottom. To my total amazement when I opened the box here in Sweden it was in about the same condition as when I packed it! This after ten weeks at sea in a totally dark and cold container, through the Panama canal and out into the Atlantic which had to be near freezing a lot of the time – early March when in left.

It is now happy at thriving and putting out new leaves.

About Bruce Louis Dodson

Bruce Louis Dodson is an American expat now living in Borlänge, Sweden with his wife, cat and dog. He is an artist and world traveler who writes fiction and poetry and practices photography in his less than copious free time. His work has appeared in: Barely South Review - Boundaries Issue, Blue Collar Review, Pulsar Poetry (UK), Foliate Oak, Breadline Press West Coast Anthology . The E-buffet, Qarrtsiluni, Struggle Magazine, Pearl Literary Magazine, Contemporary Literature Review: India, 3rd Wednesday, Sleeping Cat Books - Trip of a Lifetime Anthology, Northern Liberties Review, Authors Abroad - Foreign & and Far Away Anthology, The Path, Page & Spine, The Crucible, Sleeping Cat Books -Trips of a Lifetime, Vine Leaves, Pirene's Fountain,Tic Toc Anthology - Kind of a Hurricane Press, Cordite Poetry Review, Buffalo Almanac and mgv2.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Observing Sweden 30 May 2013

  1. Marie-Louise Dodson says:

    The love is so obviously mutual!

  2. Maube Mor says:

    what a beautiful gift this plant has given you and
    a nice transition to your new home-

  3. I love this story. Usually Ficus Benjamina (is that the right name?) are too nervous to even be moved to another place in the room. It knows you love it so it won’t let you down. This move was hard enough without having to lose your lovely ficus.

    • bldodson says:

      Myrah,
      Yes! the nervous thing is what makes this so odd.
      The plant always dropped all it’s leaves when moved to another room, or even if I turned it more than ninety degrees in a single week.
      I think you have the name correct.

  4. What an amazing story Bruce, and what a treasure… so glad it hung on until it reached you again…your very own miracle….
    I love ficus…

  5. Marilyn says:

    Bravo on your ficus! I am a master gardener but have had absolutely no luck with these trees, although I have had several in the past, which I babied, only to watch them drop their leaves and die. This transition it survived is quite amazing. Was it in a box or was the bubble wrap around it left open at the top?

  6. Marilyn says:

    The word you are referring to about tree branch twisting may be pooktre.

    • bldodson says:

      Pooktre is certainly the subject, but but more of an art form, not the technical name.
      I’m still trying to recall it. Seems like it was a long word.

Leave a Reply

