Observing Sweden – Money Matters

Money Matters

I know the ratio; one Swedish krona is about 15 cents U.S.  Given a minute’s time I can estimate the approximate cost of things for sale, but the fast transactions of every day don’t give me time to think. A hundred krona bill’s worth fifteen bucks. They don’t go far. Change returned after paying for two  coffees and a couple pasties is a few one krona coins, maybe a five, and a ten krona. I love the ten krona coins, they’re thick and weighty—89% copper, 5% aluminum, 5% zink and a shot of tin . . . worth a buck fifty.

I need to get beyond converting krona to U.S. dollars . . . to forget about dollars completely and develop a sense of worth for these strange coins and bills. I suspect this will take some time. The paper money comes in various sizes, some larger and some smaller than the dollar.

Image

That’s Jenny Lind, ‘The Swedish Nightingale’ on the fifty.

Tomorrow I will go to sign up for language lessons. I think I am entitled to fifteen one hour sessions. Though badly needed I am not looking forward to them. I have taken classes in Spanish (3 times), German (Once. I dropped out.) Italian (Dropped out) and Japanese (Twice). As a result of all these trying hours I can ask what time it is in Spanish, say your sister is attractive in Italian, order sushi and ask for the bill in Japanese. Language and math have never been easy for me. Maybe this time I’ll be forced to learn. I would make my life a lot easier. My son in law has thought me the basic Swedish swear words, but it’s hard to get by with those.

About Bruce Louis Dodson

Bruce Louis Dodson is an American expat now living in Borlänge, Sweden with his wife, cat and dog. He is an artist and world traveler who writes fiction and poetry and practices photography in his less than copious free time. His work has appeared in: Barely South Review - Boundaries Issue, Blue Collar Review, Pulsar Poetry (UK), Foliate Oak, Breadline Press West Coast Anthology . The E-buffet, Qarrtsiluni, Struggle Magazine, Pearl Literary Magazine, Contemporary Literature Review: India, 3rd Wednesday, Sleeping Cat Books - Trip of a Lifetime Anthology, Northern Liberties Review, Authors Abroad - Foreign & and Far Away Anthology, The Path, Page & Spine, The Crucible, Sleeping Cat Books -Trips of a Lifetime, Vine Leaves, Pirene's Fountain,Tic Toc Anthology - Kind of a Hurricane Press, Cordite Poetry Review, Buffalo Almanac and mgv2.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Observing Sweden – Money Matters

  1. I know how you feel about maths and learning a new language Bruce – tough on those with no aptitude! Hope you find it easier since you’re actually living there!!!

  2. catnipoflife says:

    Well, us cats don’t have to worry…our language is understood worldwide! Meow, meow, meow, purr-rr-rr-rr, rub, rub, rub! Foxie ❤ And we never have to worry about money 🙂

  3. This is my third try at responding to this great post. Beside math and languages, it seems I can’t do computer either. Good luck, but please don’t start posting in Swedish.

Leave a Reply

