Buckminster & Amber 63: Amber Croft – Kat Kung Fu – Part 2

Image

Amber Croft – A Cat of Nine Tales

Kat Kung Fu  Tale 2   Part 2

Image“Will you not be practicing again Grasshopper?”

            “I’m too tired, Sifu. I was up late last night, yow-ling at the moon.”

            “Kat who yowl at moon by night miss lessons under sun by day. This is not good.”

            “Whatever,” he replied.

            Only foolish kat waste words when argument is lost. But what to do when pupil has not learned respect for elders. Is great problem for this humble teacher of the warrior’s way. Were he of common stock would be back to worthy parents long ago, but father is close friend of emperor and has made great contributions to my Golden Amber temple.

Perhaps is best unsuitable student not to follow way of warrior. Mud turtle in pond safer that kat on horseback. What to do? Is an enigma. I began my morning practice, Praying Mantis – Chow Style, with this troubling thought in mind. Buckminster does not hear the sacred call of discipline, but to remove unworthy student would cast shame of many dragons over field of life.

Image

About Bruce Louis Dodson

Bruce Louis Dodson is an American expat now living in Borlänge, Sweden with his wife, cat and dog. He is an artist and world traveler who writes fiction and poetry and practices photography in his less than copious free time. His work has appeared in: Barely South Review - Boundaries Issue, Blue Collar Review, Pulsar Poetry (UK), Foliate Oak, Breadline Press West Coast Anthology . The E-buffet, Qarrtsiluni, Struggle Magazine, Pearl Literary Magazine, Contemporary Literature Review: India, 3rd Wednesday, Sleeping Cat Books - Trip of a Lifetime Anthology, Northern Liberties Review, Authors Abroad - Foreign & and Far Away Anthology, The Path, Page & Spine, The Crucible, Sleeping Cat Books -Trips of a Lifetime, Vine Leaves, Pirene's Fountain,Tic Toc Anthology - Kind of a Hurricane Press, Cordite Poetry Review, Buffalo Almanac and mgv2.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Buckminster & Amber 63: Amber Croft – Kat Kung Fu – Part 2

  1. Delicious… don’t keep us waiting too long to see how the master handles his recalcitrant pupil…

    • bldodson says:

      It may take a while. I accidently turned off the power when my computer was running. Now I can only get into Safe Mode, even though it says PC has recovered. Can’t get into Internet.Can’t get computer repaired as everyone in Sweden is on vacation. Sending this from tiny little laptop that does not have my files photos etc.

      • Bruce I feel your pain.

        Heartfelt sympathy XXX

      • Clever old you !!!!!

      • Bruce have you changed your blog?. I tried to leave a message on a Blogspot thing, and as usual with Blogspot; couldn;t get past the ‘You are using an illegal URL nonsense.
        Anyway,
        this is what I wanted to say ,

        Bruce – This series is brilliant. I’ve just been reading them aloud to my husband who is a martial arts devotee ( aikedo, eido, and kendo)
        You have the the vocabulary, thought process and delicious metaphors so perfectly.
        I love it I love it I love it… I savour each wonderful phrase – it’s the most brilliant send-up, so witty… love your repetitive intro, and start goggling as soon as I see it…. more please….

      • bldodson says:

        Thanks Valerie.
        Don’t know what happened.
        As you can see this came through.
        I’ve been having lots of problems. My computers still don’t understand Swedish.

      • This came through because I used the reply on your last comment to me.
        But before that, I had looked up your gravatar as I was looking for your blogs to read to my husband, and on your gravatar they sent me to you at Blogspot!
        So, when it didn’t work for me, I came back to my blog and leap-frogged to you on the reply box…Anyway, I hope you got the message that I think the Bucks and Amber series is brilliant….

      • bldodson says:

        Thank you,Valerie.
        I think I’ve gotten everything you sent.

Leave a Reply

