Amsterdam Memories – Oude Kerk

Thinking of Amsterdam, still months away, my yearly visit. Browsing some photos from my last.

Kirk1The Oude Kerk (Old Church) 1650. One of my favorite places, located in the center of the Red Light District. Filled with memories of times long past. Rembrandt was married here. His wife is buried underneath the floor made out of massive tombstone slabs. Some are engraved with names and bits of wisdom.

Kirk 3Don’t pull too hard on a weak rope.
Sail when the wind blows: Anything is easier when you have help.
Money doesn’t fall out of my arse. (I’d love to know the story behind that one.)

The door to the sacristy is red. Getting married was referred to by the people of that time as, “Going through the red door”. Above the door, more words of wisdom: “Marry in haste, repent at leisure.”

The organ. Notice reclining figure mid center.

Kirk Organ

Looks like hard sitting. I hope the sermons were short!

Kirk 5Stairway to heaven – Or maybe just the roof.

Kirk Stairs

About Bruce Louis Dodson

Bruce Louis Dodson is an American expat now living in Borlänge, Sweden with his wife, cat and dog. He is an artist and world traveler who writes fiction and poetry and practices photography in his less than copious free time. His work has appeared in: Barely South Review - Boundaries Issue, Blue Collar Review, Pulsar Poetry (UK), Foliate Oak, Breadline Press West Coast Anthology . The E-buffet, Qarrtsiluni, Struggle Magazine, Pearl Literary Magazine, Contemporary Literature Review: India, 3rd Wednesday, Sleeping Cat Books - Trip of a Lifetime Anthology, Northern Liberties Review, Authors Abroad - Foreign & and Far Away Anthology, The Path, Page & Spine, The Crucible, Sleeping Cat Books -Trips of a Lifetime, Vine Leaves, Pirene's Fountain,Tic Toc Anthology - Kind of a Hurricane Press, Cordite Poetry Review, Buffalo Almanac and mgv2.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Amsterdam Memories – Oude Kerk

  1. Impressive looking Kirk there Bruce. The seating certainly wasn’t designed for comfort. I went into the cathedral in Cirencester, UK and there are quite a few knights and their families entombed there. The place had a musty, decaying smell to it. Great pics.
    Laurie.

    • bldodson says:

      Thanks Laurie,
      I still have never been to the UK, but it’s on my bucket list.

    • bldodson says:

      @Laurie,
      I’m saving the easy ones for last. I’d like to visit Istanbul, also St. Petersburg before too long. I’ll never make it to Angkor Wat, or Nam. I know I would have loved traveling there.
      Budapest and Vienna also on my ‘easy’ list. I wish I could have made it to Australia. I think I could be very comfortable living there. It seems to me one of the sanest places on this earth.

      • A great list there Bruce, who knows what tomorrow brings. Angor Wat has always intrigued me, as for Vietnam, I wish I’d bought a better camera when I was there. Australia is a great place to live right now, I sometimes fear for the future of it though. It’s beginning to lose it’s charm a tiny piece at a time.

  2. Beautiful pictures of a splendid building – such atmosphere!

Leave a Reply

