Observing Sweden – Driving Me Crazy

Took my 2nd driver’s practice today, another $100. I did okay, but forgot to look at the right side mirror a couple times. I was a little stressed. It’s such a pain in the ass with someone telling you, “Go left at the next stop, then right. Follow the sign to Ornsköldsvik.” One usually knows where one is going ahead of time, but then, I’ve only been driving for 60 years. Now I have to take a ‘slippery road’ practice in a town near here. This takes 3 hours and costs $200 U.S. In order to be permitted to take this practice I have to pass a slalom test – between traffic cones, forward and backward, with a stick shift vehicle.

Slalem
I will need to have a translator with me as instructions are in Swedish. If I don’t pass the slalom test I get to pay another $200 and take the test again. If I manage to pass, I get to take a written test, (another hundred bucks), with thousands of possible relevant questions such as, “What is the maximum speed for a moped Category 1?” If I pass that, I have to pay another fee, to take the actual driving test.

I am so totally pissed!

About Bruce Louis Dodson

Bruce Louis Dodson is an American expat now living in Borlänge, Sweden with his wife, cat and dog. He is an artist and world traveler who writes fiction and poetry and practices photography in his less than copious free time. His work has appeared in: Barely South Review - Boundaries Issue, Blue Collar Review, Pulsar Poetry (UK), Foliate Oak, Breadline Press West Coast Anthology . The E-buffet, Qarrtsiluni, Struggle Magazine, Pearl Literary Magazine, Contemporary Literature Review: India, 3rd Wednesday, Sleeping Cat Books - Trip of a Lifetime Anthology, Northern Liberties Review, Authors Abroad - Foreign & and Far Away Anthology, The Path, Page & Spine, The Crucible, Sleeping Cat Books -Trips of a Lifetime, Vine Leaves, Pirene's Fountain,Tic Toc Anthology - Kind of a Hurricane Press, Cordite Poetry Review, Buffalo Almanac and mgv2.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Observing Sweden – Driving Me Crazy

  1. stutleytales says:

    Hope you’ve got good walking shoes… 🙂 How do you get around now?

  2. Gyslaine L. says:

    Oh I understand! 🙂

  3. I do not recommend giving up, turning all the driving over to your wife. My husband has eye issues and hasn’t driven in years. Pain in the butt. So, keep at it. You are a tough hombre.

  4. Sounds hellish… I’m amazed there’s anyone behind a wheel in Sweden….brave man…

  5. It may be cheaper to hire a chauffeur Bruce.

  6. authorjim says:

    What would it take to legally ride a bike? It’s enough to make you want to kick somebody in the shins.

Leave a Reply

